Nepali Indian Spicy CURRY HOUSE (Yokkaichi: Part 5)

I had my first curry in college during Diwali. India Palace catered. The bright orange ambrosia’s taste lurked in the corners of my subconscious, and I wondered when I could have it again. I was a free food foodie, who frequently found free events. Each time the Indian organization organized anything, I went. When I visited my parents, I often requested going out for Indian cuisine.

When I studied abroad, the large number of Indian restaurants in Japan both surprised and pleased me. Unlike the naan I got in the US, the naan in Japan is fluffy. Many restaurants also serve a circular naan, filled with melted cheese, which my friend, B-chan, describes as pizza-like!

I saw Nepali Indian Spicy Curry House (NISCH, but better known as “Curry House Yokkaichi”) when I tagged along with A.H.-sensei and Pickle-sensei. They wanted to find lunch, and sadly passed NISCH by on their way to a steak house. NISCH is my favorite Indian restaurant in the world. Granted, I have only been to three in the US and about 12 in Japan, so I can easily declare it with a pure heart and a clear conscience. After perusing the menu below, you may argue that as a woman, I am biased.

Nepali Indian Spicy Curry House Lunch Menu
Pokhara Lunch¥800

-Salad
-Choice of Curry
-Plain Naan or Rice

Sakura Lunch ¥910
-Salad
-Choice of Curry
-Plain Naan or Rice
-Choice of Soft Drink

Ladies’ Lunch ¥1150
-Salad
-Choice of Curry
-Choice of Naan or Rice
-Choice of Soft Drink
-Ice cream

Bancha Lunch¥1350
-Salad
-Choice of Curry
-Plain Naan, Garlic Naan, or Rice
-Chicken Tikka
-Garlic Tikka
-Tandoori Prawn
-Choice of Soft Drink

Namaste Bancha Lunch ¥1495
-Salad
-Choice of Curry
-Choice of Naan or Rice
-Choice of Tandoori (1)
-Choice of Soft Drink

Kids’ Lunch ¥550
-Mini Salad
-Malai Tikka
-Plain Naan or Rice
-Choice of Curry
-Choice of Soft Drink
-Ice cream

Gakusei (Student) Set ¥680
-Mini Salad
-Plain Naan or Rice
-Choice of Mini Curry
-Choice of Soft Drink

The heat ranges from 1-5. I usually got a 2 or 3, which was spicy enough, as my heat tolerance dropped the longer I lived in Japan. When Wise and Smarty allowed me to choose this place for dinner (during my ‘curry only b/c you never know what will be served at a cafe’ phase), the choice of curries was even larger! We talked with the staff–I especially like the lady–and they gave us free spicy noodles to take home! Here are the varieties of both and soft drinks:

Curries: Chicken, Prawn Mushroom, Seafood, Pumpkin, Vegetable, Keema, Spinach Cheese, Pork, Mutton, Dal, Beef, Pumpkin Chicken, Spinach Beef, Seafood Coconut, Dal Coconut, Spinach Coconut, Dry Soybean
-Heat: 1 Soft 2 Medium 3 Hot 4 Very Hot 5 Super Hot

Naans: Plain, Cheese, Spicy Cheese, Cream Cheese, Garlic, Butter, Aloo (potato), Honey, Sweet, Kebab

Soft drinks: Chai Tea (hot/cold), Coffee (hot/cold), Sweet Lassi, Salty Lassi, Mango Juice, Mango Lassi, Orange Juice, Oolong Tea, Grapefruit Juice, Ginger Ale, Cola

I often ordered the Ladies’ Lunch with Cream Cheese Naan, Pumpkin Chicken Curry, and Mango Juice. The circular naan has a warm, melty, creamy layer of cheese and is a bit more crisp than regular cheese naan. The curry is thick and sweet, with chunks of kabocha (かぼちゃ, Japanese pumpkin squash) and tender chicken. I often poured mango juice in the vanilla ice cream.

Getting to NISCH
-Before the branch in my town closed, I could easily walk to NISCH, but the original branch in Yokkaichi is an 8-minute walk from JR Kawarada Station (JR河原田駅) according to Google Maps.
-I would not recommend walking from Kintetsu Kitakusu Station (近鉄北楠駅), which I have done. It takes 44 minutes along a highway.

If you want delicious curry for a decent price and a lot of variety (at least 51 curries during dinner hours), go to CURRY HOUSE Yokkaichi!

Celestey’s 裁き (sah ba key, Judgement)
Pumpkin Chicken Curry: 10/10
Cream Cheese Naan: 10/10 (I do not know of any other restaurant that serves it.)
Kebab Naan: 10/10

Nepali Indian Spicy Curry House’s Info:
Number: +81-059-345-9929
Address: 三重県四日市市河原田町1504 (Mie-ken, Yokkaichi-shi, Kawaradachou 1504)
Hours: 11:00-15:00 (last order 14:30)
17:00-22:30 (last order 22:00)
Holidays: none (Call ahead, just to make sure. The awesome staff speak English.)
English-speaking staff/menus: yes and yes
Smoking: Permitted
Parking: 22 spaces

Leave a Reply

